Dead bird

Go ahead. Talk about it.
Doreen Peri
Site Admin

Dead bird

Post by Doreen Peri » June 19th, 2008, 12:34 pm

Can somebody come over here and help me remove a dead bird from my front porch? It's been there for a week...... sighhh....

It's disgusting. I can't touch it. I don't know what to do.

I'm not good with dead things. I even hate dead bugs. Why does death bother me so much?

My cat is a mass murderer. He should be incarcerated.

Seriously, any tips on how I should go about removing the corpse from the premises?

Should I use a shovel and bury it in the back yard? Should I use some paper towels and wrap it up and put it in the trash?

Where's the mortician when you need him the most?

mrs. yabyum

Post by mrs. yabyum » June 19th, 2008, 1:10 pm

oh jeez doreen, i'm sorry you have to deal with this. don't know if you read my blog about the other day when our cat brought a dead bird INSIDE the house. i had to actually wrap my hand in a plastic bag to dispose of the carcass, and touch it. i touched a dead bird. and then had to congratulate my killer kitten. it's a bit hard to think it's his primal urge to murder, he's just doing his job, it was a gift for me, when really what i'm thinking is "how could he and that's gross."

i have problems with dead things too. but i was raised in the boonies and had to learn to deal with all kinds of critters, big and small, dead and living, smelly and messy. like the time a very much alive bird flew into the house and flew around pooping on everything. or all the dead (and half-dead, those are the worst) mice and shrews the cats would leave on the porch. or all the herds of deer bedding in the backyard and eating the new daffodil shoots.

nature...whatever.

i would probably try to limit the amount of contact with the bird, get a shovel or something and scoop it up then toss it into some bushes to naturally decompose. probably away from any other nests or anything close that would attract scavengers.