Good Gaza!

Commentary by Lightning Rod - RIP 2/6/2013
Forum rules
To honor our site members who are no longer with us.
Lightning Rod

Good Gaza!

Post by Lightning Rod » January 4th, 2009, 1:28 pm

Good Gaza!
for release 01-04-09
Dallas, Texas
by Lightning Rod

Israel and I were born in the same year. It was the same year that Mahatma Gandhi died, 1948.

When I was a young history student it used to amaze me how a war could go on for 30 years or a hundred years. It was beyond my imagination that a conflict could go on that long. Yet in my lifetime I have seen a conflict continue for sixty years. I'm talking about the Palestine/Israel conflict.

I stayed up last night watching the bombs burst over Gaza. This has been going on for my entire life.

I love the idea of Israel. I've read all of Leon Uris' books. I appreciate the fact that the Jews have been persecuted historically and the idea of the 'promised land' is quaint and heartwarming. But it's also a pain in the ass.

America can't get too self-righteous about this subject. After all, when we established our democracy here in the land of the free, we first had to subjugate and ghettoize the indigenous population. We still have Indian reservations. This is the same thing that Israel has done to the Palestinians, subjugated and ghettoized them.

It reminds me of the theory of child abuse, the one that says that if a person has been abused, then he will in turn be an abuser. Israel has been treating the people of Palestine in much the same way as the Nazis treated the Jews or that we Americans treated the Indians.

The Poet's Eye has observed in the past that a simpler solution to the Israel/Palestine problem would be to give Wyoming to the Israelis and transport them all there in a modern airborne Exodus. They would have mobetta land and we would lose a headache.

"The seacoast shall be pastures,
With shelters for shepherds and folds for flocks.
The coast shall be for the remnant of the house of Judah;