The Thought, The Word, The Deed

Commentary by Lightning Rod - RIP 2/6/2013
Forum rules
To honor our site members who are no longer with us.
Lightning Rod

Post by Lightning Rod » February 13th, 2006, 3:00 pm

photo from http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/

for release 02-14-06
Washington D.C.

The Bible tells us that in the beginning there was the Word. But I'm here to say that before the Word, there is the Thought. I'm a writer, I should know about these things. The Word is a method of communication. Ideas are the source of words. Once the idea is there, the words are simple craftsmanship.

Gravity is an observable force, but we don't know it's mechanism. Newton can get bonked on the head by an apple and deduce that bodies have an attraction for one another without the slightest understanding of how it works. Are there gravity particles or gravity waves or a gravity field? How does it operate? Newton and Einstein and Kepler and Ptolemy puzzled over the problem and still we don't know how it works. We just know That it works. The same is true of words.

Perhaps words are an analogue, a metaphor, for gravitation. They are without mass but exert an observable force. We don't know how they work. But we know That they work. Words can make your heart soar or they can crush your heart. Words can change your life. They can convince you of almost anything. They can sell you products that you don't need. Words can convince you of sound ideas or preposterous ones. Words can fool you or point the way to the truth.

Words are symbols for ideas. The thought precedes the word and the deed follows it. I spend hours, days sometime, waiting for the thought. After the thought occurs, the words are easy. The deeds require more effort.