Advice to Up & Coming Musicians from a Label Perspective

A humorously serious look at life’s trials & tribulations,
American politics, religion, and other social madnesses by Beth Isbell.

Moderator: roxybeast

roxybeast

Advice to Up & Coming Musicians from a Label Perspective

Post by roxybeast » January 14th, 2010, 2:10 am

<center>Advice to Up & Coming Musicians/Bands from a Label Perspective
by Beth Isbell, January 12, 2010</center>
As some of you know, I do commission A&R work for a group that identifies & solicits talent for a major label EMI & some other indie labels as well. Some of the artists & bands I've submitted have charted at the top of listener & label reviews, and some have even been signed to other major & indie labels ... (yeah, I know, totally sucks that the labels I work for didn't sign them, since I get no commission when that happens, but still a nice feeling!).

I'm an artist too, but have only been writing/playing for a dozen years & only about half that in public, so I'm just now starting to get good at it, so things haven't happened for me on that side yet, but they are starting too - radio airplay, songwriting awards, bigger & better shows & more fans - but I'm still working hard on getting better & better at the craft. I have goals, but no expectations. There are a lot of awesome musicians & bands out there that can't make a living at it, and I personally know quite a few in that position, so if it were easy ... well, you get my point. But having frequent access & communications to folks at quality record labels that do make these kind of decisions about what makes them sign an artist, had provided me some unique insight into what it takes to build their interest & get signed. And in this terrible economy, they are even more reluctant to sign any musician or band.