I Long For A Better World

Post audio files & youtube videos.
Michael

I Long For A Better World

Post by Michael » June 30th, 2013, 1:32 pm

In 2006, I wrote an OpEd piece for an online news/oped outlet for which I was an assistant editor. The outlet is, strangely enough, called OpEdNews. I kind of got the idea for the format from Dr. Martin Luther King’s “I Have a Dream” speech. In no way, shape or form do I believe that my piece is even in the same universe, let alone the same zip code, as Dr. King’s speech. My OpEd piece is entitled “I Long For A Better World”.

I’ve produced 10 CDs which haven’t sold much – an understatement if there ever was one. On the last track of my latest album, I recorded “I Long For A Better World” as a spoken word “song”; the very same oped piece with musical “accompaniment”.

I’m not trying to sell anything here. It’s not necessary that you know the title of that or any other of my albums. However, here is the 10 minute and 42 second track still entitled “I Long For A Better World”. The lyrics are here as well. I hope you’re a little bit inspired by this piece or, at the least, you enjoy it.

CKA,
Michael

“Fervor is the weapon of choice for the impotent.” - Frantz Fanon

World Conditions and Action Items

ps Well, I am trying to sell a little something here. I wouldn’t mind selling the talents of the young lady who leant her voice to this piece. Her name is Halley Crast and I hope you hear good things about her in the future.

[/size]

I wrote the following for every human being who would humble me by hearing me out.

I realize that is a fraction of a fraction of all humanity, but it may be, if I’m graced, humanity just the same.

I’ve often wondered why I’m so obsessed with injustice. I’ve often wondered why I’m so passionate when it would be so much easier to be oblivious.

It dawned on me.

I long for a better world.