Black Rose of Penitence

Prose, including snippets (mini-memoirs).
goldenmyst

Black Rose of Penitence

Post by goldenmyst » July 12th, 2020, 9:40 pm

Black Rose of Penitence

This is a junior college where I am an instructor for young pianist, flutist, and organist who birth notes with fingers on fire. During their practice sessions, I just melt in my soma zone while they strum my heart with the music of the Gods.

The young ladies chatter like Chickadees with gentlemen in a college-lyceum where Bach can’t compete with green grass and blue skies. So we follow the sun onto the campus green where lasses are peonies whose windblown fragrance is a kiss for lads while I sit in a Buddha pose with the heart of a child.

One student seeks my counsel under the blue sky. Her name is Gloria. She takes a seat in front of me and assumes my full lotus pose. My gaze is somewhere beyond this time and she waves her hands in my face saying, “Yoo-hoo—is there anyone there?”

My eyes come unglazed. She brandishes her wrists with her scars from her dark moods. She opens, “I’m unipolar. I go into deep depressions. I’ve tried to off myself many times.”

“Look at the trees how when their boughs are broken by storms the remaining foliage grows more vigorously. Be like the tree.”

“That is so Zen. If I’d had someone like you in my life back then maybe I would have understood how precious life is. People like you who can tune out the world can teach me. I know you can.”

When the bell tower chimes we gather back in the classroom. Deep in the cloisters of terracotta belles effloresce with beaus among rows of wooden desks where coeds have sat for a century while breathing sighs of summer love. Their poetry is the blue sky under which gardens blossom in sonnets of sunshine heaped in bales of gold.